Carpe Noctum

They’re not that different from you, are they? Same haircuts. Full of hormones, just like you. Invincible, just like you feel. The world is their oyster. They believe they’re destined for great things, just like many of you, their eyes are full of hope, just like you. Did they wait until it was too late to make from their lives even one iota of what they were capable? Because, you see gentlemen, these boys are now fertilizing daffodils. But if you listen real close, you can hear them whisper their legacy to you. Go on, lean in.  Listen, you hear it? [whispers in a raspy voice] – – Carpe – – hear it? – – Carpe, carpe diem, seize the day boys, make your lives extraordinary.Dead Poets Society

Last night was a good night. I had a lot of fun. I was more social and talked to more strangers than quite possibly ever before in my life.

I walked down to the bar alone. It was Thursday and I was going to eighties night for the second week in a row. I was pretty excited, last week was a lot of fun, but this not was their two year anniversary, and to celebrate they wouldn’t be closing until 7AM. Of course, I had to work the next day at 9AM, but that never stopped me before.

Plus, I was hoping to see Leader there. I had a good time dancing with her last week. She was really cute, too.

The night began slowly.

I walked in, grabbed a beer, surveyed the place, did a lot of dawdling. Finished my beer (a Pabst pounder), then grabbed another one and sat at the bar. After that got boring, I walked out to the dance floor and became a wallflower, watching everyone dance to 80’s hits like “Sunglasses at Night” and “Dancin’ with Myself.”

All of the sudden, this hot, tall, redhead grabbed me out to the dance floor. This is a girl that King Lear and I had talked to before at another bar. She yells, “I REMEMBER YOU!” when we’re out on the dance floor. “Yes, I remember you, too,” I replied.

I personally believe there is very little difference between a hipster party and a top 40 party. Once you get past the  music and the clothing, the people are pretty much the same. The one striking difference is this, there really isn’t any grinding at hipster parties. Instead, it’s usually a bunch of people in a circle dancing. No touching, no nothing.

Not saying there is nothing wrong with this, but it gets boring very quickly. I should have grabbed the redhead, spun her around and started dancing with her. Instead, I danced in the circle for two songs, then went to sit at the bar. Damn, she was sexy, too.

While walking to the back of the bar, I caught Leader out of the corner of my eye. She is talking with Plain Guy from last week. I acted like I didn’t see her and walked to the back. In the back, I see her one friend, who is also really cute and a friend I hadn’t seen before.

Enter Hero and Spy.

Hero and Spy are two of my best friends. I actually met them through our local lair. We go out sarging a lot, although not in recent months because I have fallen off. Hero gives me a hug and three of us start catching up. They tell me they’ve been here for little while and that they love 80’s night (they’d never been there before). I was surprised because these guys usually eschew most hipster parties I bring them to.

Right in the middle of our conversation, I see Leader’s friend, I jump right out of the conversation and tap her on the shoulder.

“Remember me?”

A bad thing to say, according to most PUA texts. You never want to supplicate, it’s putting the ball in the females court. Natural Tim would say that you can say anything as long as there is core masculine intent behind it. In honesty, I just wasn’t thinking. I should have just walked over and started talking like I already knew she’d remember me.

“Yes, I remember you,” She says.

I introduced myself to her friend, Kansas, who coincidentally had just moved back here from Kansas. We talked for a long while about Kathleen Sebelius and other intellectual endeavors-“dorky stuff” in her words, before she was pulled back to the dance floor.

Ah, that felt good!

I stepped outside of my comfort zone and even though it was a warm approach, it felt like a load had been LIFTED off my shoulders.

That set the tone for the rest of the night.

Part of this was precipitated from the good response I had from Kansas, but admittedly it was also sparked by the alcohol kicking in. Either way, I was on fire. I danced with another redhead, she wasn’t really cute, and kept looking down when she danced. I told her to look up when she danced.

I saw these two girls, one fat the other cute, texting on their cell phones on the dance floor no less. I pulled out my cell phone, walked over to them and said, “can I join your club?” they said, “what club?” “your cell phone text messaging club!” then I noticed the bigger girls cell phone and said, “WAIT A MINUTE!” we both had the same cell phone.

I need to remember to talk louder. Speak from my diaphragm. Speak as if the person were 10 feet further away from where they actually are. I want to minimize the “what?” that I keep getting!

Another girl and I stood waiting for a beer, I asked her what she was buying me to drink? She said, that I should buy her a drink because she is a girl. I said, well if  you cook and clean barefoot pregnant in the kitchen then I will gladly buy you a drink. She laughed and we continued our conversation for a bit, until this one girl, CrazyB interrupted us.

CrazyB is a girl I have known for many years, we went to college together and have many mutual friends. I think that she is cute in a very weird way. She is also fucking nuts. Hero and Spy actually lived with her for a year and contend that she had sex with her brother multiple times while there. She is a quasi friend of my ex-girlfriend (The One) and asked me if she was crazy, because she  stopped talking to her. I said, “no, I don’t think she is crazy, but I think you are.” The girl I was talking to had moved away.

I would love to hate-fuck CrazyB. Otherwise I don’t care for her.

The real star of the night was Leader. She spent the early night dancing with Plain Guy from the week before. I did like Kansas a bit more on an intellectual tip, but even though I was being more aggressive in my talking, I just wasn’t being as aggressive in my pursuance of her.

Core masculine intent, gotta remember this stuff. Write it down on my notepad, dammit!

I danced away the night until 5:30 AM, dancing with the unattractive redhead who looked down, Leader, and Kansas. Leader and I grinded a whole lot, but she kept pulling away because there weren’t that many people around. I called her, “miss self conscious” and teased her a lot about it.  I also goofed around with Hero and Spy a lot.

In the end, Leader said her goodbye, and inferred that we should meet up sometime, but my naive ass missed the intent from a mile away. She left, maybe to never be seen again. Leader said she won’t be around next week, and I probably won’t go there either. It’s good to take a break from places. I will probably go to a top 40 night instead.

What did I learn tonight? Carpe Noctum, motherfuckers.

Seize the night.

Leave a Reply

