Relax, it’s cool.

“When you change the way you look at things the things you look at change.” – Wayne Dyer

Today, David Wygant posted a blog about thanking the universe.  He asks:

“For what are all of you thankful every day? Do you wake up feeling positive? Do you wake up really embracing life? Do you wake up thanking the universe? If you do, amazing things will happen to you every single day.”

This morning, the answer to all of these questions was “no.” In fact, I loathed getting out my bed only to walk around my cold apartment and get ready for a job that I did not want to go to.

I went to work and found myself in a negative mood, staring at the computer screen, my depression killing my motivation. The work was too monotonous, the pay was way too low, and my boss was a snake. I sulked for a good hour.

After awhile, I remembered that I have two options to get out of a negative situation. I can…

Accept the situation fully.

or

Get out of the situation completely.

So, I quit my job.

Well, I gave my two weeks notice.

Do I have another job lined up? I think I do, but it’s not for sure. I’ve talked about the job a couple of times on this blog. If I don’t, I’ll just go back to the temp. agency and get another job. Life is too short to be dealing with bullshit like the Bank.

Once I sent out my letter of resignation, it was like a load had been lifted off of my shoulders. All of the sudden I was smiling and jovial. I had solved a major source of strife in my life!

But there was still a question that Mr. Wygant asked that I haven’t answered.

For what are all of you thankful every day?

I am thankful that I am able to make decisions like the one I made today. I am not in the best financial situation, but I am able to live on very little money. Also, I can find temporary jobs pretty quickly with my computer skills.

However, I don’t expect the situation to come to that. I am going to get the job I interviewed for.

At one point during the morning, when I was really sulking-I mean really on the brink of having a breakdown, I had this daydream. I was standing on sidewalk, looking across a two way street to the opposite sidewalk, and beyond that on a building wall was a sign that read:

Relax, it’s cool.

I smiled and calmed down a bit. When put into perspective, my job wasn’t that bad, and even still, I always had the option of quitting, which is exactly what I did. Oftentimes, I find myself freaking out about shit that really DOES NOT MATTER. Take the past two years of approach anxiety, for instance.

Tomorrow I have a date.

It’s with the redhead I met on Saturday. I hadn’t texted her since Sunday but she seemed receptive when I messaged her tonight. It went something like this:

Me: What are we doing tomorrow?

Her: We have plans for tomorrow?

Me: Of course we do. We’re going to wine night.

Her: Yeah? That sounds like fun what time…

It went on from there…

I am pretty proud of the interaction, I portrayed myself as confident and to the point. I stated my intent, “I want to go out with you,” right from the beginning. I didn’t beat around the bush, I didn’t ask her any questions, I basically held her hand.

My goal with the date tomorrow is to have as much fun as possible. The redhead, she seems pretty laid back and cool, so. Plus, there will be wine involved, so any nervousness that she or I might have will be eliminated soon enough through drunkeness.

I’ll let you guys know how it goes in one or two posts from now.

In the meantime, be sure to check out David Wygant’s blog. The guy, according to PUA Thundercat, is as close to Hitch as it gets in the community. He targets the older crowd of gentlemen and up until recently, he has eschewed bootcamps for more personal one on one help. He also helps women find men.  His blog is filled with not just PUA tips, but also philosophical insights, which are very much in alignment with my own views. He updates his blog daily, so be sure to check him out.

Leave a Reply

