Success is a journey, not a destination

*”Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome.” – Arthur Ashe

I was reading through the RSD forum today and came across this very inspiring post. It is about trusting myself to do the things that I want to do. Too often I find myself caught in my head and start thinking negatively in the direction of doubt. Meditation does wonders for eliminating these thoughts.

Sealdan’s post also got me thinking about what I want out of being a PUA:

Some people want the rock-star lifestyle of banging a new hot chick every night. Some people want the ability to get any girl they want… anytime, anywhere, anyplace. Some people just want that one special girl without the feeling of scarcity. Some people want something in between all of this. Some people just want to live a better life overall. Anything is totally fine. No one’s forcing you to live a certain way.

If you don’t know what you want out of life yet, that’s okay. You’ll find it as long as you keep working to do so.

I am not sure about what I particularly want out of being a PUA yet. Aw, who am I kidding, I would LOVE to live a rockstar kind of lifestyle. I imagine it would get old pretty quickly like most things I have aspired to do and done in life, but I would like to have the experience.

I do know that, for as long as I can remember, I have spent a lot of my time daydreaming about myself being perceived as having higher value in social situations. I often come up with some very creative ploy that makes me famous and therefore the talk of the town. When I was in junior high and high school, I did a few outrageous things just to get attention that I am not proud of. These acts often included lies and deceit.

The trick is to be content. That’s not to say that I shouldn’t work towards something better, but to be content with where I am now, and now that I am moving in a positive direction. I have to enjoy the journey, as they say.

*****

I skipped the zendo weekly meditation today, although I meditated in the morning. In fact, I have created a nice little morning routine consisting of: meditation, light exercise (pushups, hip raises, sit ups, and squats), and cooking breakfast. After that, I write down everything I need to accomplish throughout my day and get to it. Usually, I put in work straight through from 12pm-7pm, with minor breaks to check blogs and such. I actually slept through the evening group meditation session. Oh well, there is always next week.

Leave a Reply

