Out of the Waiting Rooom

In life, people tend to wait for good things to come to them. And by waiting, they miss out. Usually, what you wish for doesn’t fall in your lap; it falls somewhere nearby, and you have to recognize it, stand up, and put in the time and work it takes to get to it. This isn’t because the universe is cruel. It’s because the universe is smart. It has its own cat-string theory and knows we don’t appreciate things that fall into our laps.” – Neil Strauss

Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve written here.

But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been making progress with my life.

Peep game.

When the summer began, I got a new job at the same company I work for. I got a significant raise and now have benefits because I was previously working as a temp. This job allows me to work 4 10-hour days so now I have Fridays off. I am very happy about this arrangement.

I have recently decided to start going out again seriously. I don’t know if you can call what I did at the beginning of the year serious or not, I don’t remember trying very hard, or necessarily doing the things that I needed to do in those situations. I really need to re-read those posts again. Lately, I have been going out Thursday-Saturday with the sole purpose of talking to women. I go to high quality venues with lots of sets to open. The club. Without my job schedule, Thursday would either not be possible, or would make Fridays 10x worse. There are all kinds of problems that I need to work on when I go out that I will correct in time. In short, I am going out reguarly, I am opening, and I am proud of that.

I am also lifting 3x a week and it feels great. There were all kinds of mental roadblocks that were preventing me before, namely the anxiety of going to a strange gym and being a weakling amongst muscleheads. One day I decided to say “fuck all that shit” and started going and haven’t looked back since. There are times when I have felt like I have could have put a better effort in, but again that will be dealt with in time.

I am also practicing driving lessons once a week with a friend. My test is in one month. My friend thought I could past the test if I were to take it tomorrow. I am also taking swimming lessons once a week.

All in all, I feel like I have been challenging myself on a regular basis. I feel like I am in charge of getting better and taking action to move in that direction, instead of just doing the same ol’ and thinking that things will happen randomly.

Here are two articles that really motivate me.

Tyler from Real Social Dynamics – On Implementing Habits

Ozzie – D.I.W.A. (Do It While Afraid)

Leave a Reply

